The Learning for Life Foundation Society is an opportunity to support the Learning for Life curriculum-based and Exploring character and career education programs at a national level. Your contribution will provide scholarships, service grants to schools, promotion materials and career networking for Exploring.


Fellowship in the Learning for Life Foundation Society is open to anyone who contributes $1,000 in support of the Learning for Life and Exploring programs. This includes but is not limited to school administrators, business leaders, Scouting professionals, volunteers and educators at the college or university levels.


Contributors will be designated a Learning for Life Foundation Society fellow. Fellows will receive a certificate with presentation folder and a lapel pin.


Please send your donation to Learning for life at:
PO Box 152079 | Irving, TX | 75015-2079
Include the memo 64003-1161 on your check.


Explorers can earn a Career Achievement Award in one or all 12 career fields. To earn a Career Achievement Award, the Explorer must be registered in a post, provide 50 hours of community service and complete any nine career achievements as outlined in the award packet. The Exploring post advisor certifies that the Explorer has satisfactorily performed 50 hours of community service and verifies that the candidate has completed at least nine achievements within the career field.


Exploring programs involve active learning and include lots of fun-filled, hands-on activities. Exploring promotes the conditions necessary for the growth and development of youth. The following are the key components of the Career Awareness Award, which encourages young people to explore a variety of career options as they begin the journey of discovering their future. The purpose of the Career Awareness Award is to:


· Provide direction to Explorers registered in a club as they begin the career discovery journey.


· Motivate Explorers to discover new career opportunities.


· Recognize Explorers for significant community service.


The Career Awareness Award is for those Explorers registered in an Exploring club, between the ages of 10 and 14. More details about the award can be found by downloading the Career Awareness Award packet.


An adult leader supports Explorers in setting challenging but achievable goals in four program areas. Once an Explorer has achieved his or her goals, they should submit the form. The Explorer will receive a recognition from their local member of Congress. CLICK HERE to learn more about how it works.


The National Law Enforcement Exploring Committee approved at its 10 April 2015 meeting Law Enforcement Exploring Special Recognition Awards for: Valor, Bravery, Lifesaving, and Meritorious Service. Special Recognition Awards are for Law Enforcement Explorers only; Advisors or other adult leaders who have engaged in the same type of extraordinary action will be recognized through their agency special recognition program or, if a civilian, may be nominated for a lifesaving or meritorious action award through the Boy Scouts of America. The Special Recognition Awards for Law Enforcement Explorers will be administered through the Proficiency Awards and Recognitions subcommittee of the National Law Enforcement Exploring Committee.


The Learning for Life Leadership Award is a distinguished award for Explorers, high school Learning for Life program participants, and adult volunteer leaders who have given exceptional leadership in Exploring or Learning for Life programs. The Leadership Award is available annually to all Explorer posts and Learning for Life high school groups.


In recognition of these outstanding achievements, Learning for Life is proud to announce the availability of the President’s Volunteer Service Award, a prestigious national honor offered in recognition of volunteer commitment. Established in 2003, this Award is given by the President of the United States and honors individuals, families and groups who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to volunteer service over the course of 12 months.


The William H. Spurgeon III Award is the highest recognition for individuals and organizations contributing significant leadership to the Exploring program.


Lifesaving Award:


Recognition may be given to a youth member or adult leader of Learning for Life where the evidence presented to the National Learning for Life office, in accordance with prescribed regulations, shows that he or she saved or attempted to save life under circumstances which indicate heroism and risk to self. Learning for Life will give consideration to resourcefulness and to demonstrated skill in rescue methods. In no case shall recognition be given where it appears that the risk involved was merely in the performance of duty or the meeting or an obligation because of responsibility to supervise and give leadership to the persons whose lives were saved.


Meritorious Action Award:


Recognition may be given to a youth or adult participant where the evidence presented to the National Learning for Life office, in accordance with prescribed regulations, shows that a significant or outstanding act of service, of an exceptional character, was performed. The action taken need not involve attempts of rescue or risk to self but must put into practice skills and/or ideals in Learning for Life. Recognition shall not be given where it appears that the action involved was merely in the performance of duty or the meeting of an obligation.


Law Enforcement and Fire & EMS Explorers can earn recognition for showing competencies in up to 14 different areas. This is an opportunity for Explorers to earn awards that acknowledge their Exploring training, skills, leadership, service, accomplishments and experiences. Explorers will be recognized with a commendation bar designed to be worn on a Law Enforcement or Fire & EMS Explorer’s uniform in accordance with his or her unit’s uniform regulations. Commendation bars and certificates can be ordered through your local Exploring office.